Skip to content

    NEW FLIPBOOK!    Click here!

silver-bar-1920

Legislative Alerts

The 2021 Maryland General Assembly is now in session.

The Charles County Chamber’s Legislative Committee is working diligently to ensure that our members’ interests are well served and that their businesses are protected. Committee members are now meeting weekly to review proposed bills in both houses.

This page will be updated periodically throughout the session, and a link to the following information will also be sent to our full mailing list as updates are made. Stay informed!

To view the current Legislative Alert from our Legislative Committee, please click here.

For full text and additional information on any bill, go to https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/mgawebsite and input bill number in the “Search” field.

 

Click here to subscribe to the Chamber’s eBlasts.

 

To learn more about the Legislative Committee, please click here.

Legislative Alert Introduction

Dear Chamber Members:

It is once again that time of the year when the Maryland General Assembly is in session and our own Legislative Committee is on the job, meeting weekly to review proposed bills in both houses to assure that our members’ interests are well served and our businesses are protected.

This is our Legislative Alert which will be issued periodically during the Maryland General Assembly Session and will be sent only by an email on the Peek at the Week using Constant Contact.

The Legislative Committee works diligently and intensely on your behalf during the session and throughout the year.  The Legislative Alert keeps you up to the minute on what is going on in government that affects your business and your family.

It’s worth your time to read it every week.

Legislative Committee Structuring

Please take note of the listing below, and if you have any questions about any of the bills listed within the Legislative Alert, or if you have concerns of your own, do not hesitate to contact either the appropriate sub-committee person, the co-chairs or the Chamber at 301-932-6500 or Bonnie Grady, Chamber staff to the Legislative Committee at bgrady@charlescountychamber.org

 

Charles County Chamber of Commerce 2021 Legislative Committee:

Committee Chair: Phil McDonagh, Retired, Past-President 301-848-5475

E-mail: prwmcdonagh@gmail.com

 

SUB-COMMITTEE NAME                                    PHONE                      EMAIL                                 

 

EDUCATION:

Chair: Karen Smith-Hupp, College of So. MD                                              kshupp@csmd.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL REGULATION / BUSINESS REGULATION:

Chair: Rick Barnas, Barnas Engineering                    301-655-1090              barnasengineering@gmail.com

Tom Dennison, SMECO                                            301-274-4342              thomas.dennison@smeco.coop

Sue Greer, The Greer Law Firm                                 301-934-7988              sue@thegreerlawfiem.com

Doug Meeker, Elm Street Development                    410-266-9700              dmeeker@elmstreetdev.com

HEALTHCARE / HEALTH INSURANCE:

Chair: Ken Cross, Retired                                          301-934-4680              kwcross881@gmail.com

George Hawley, MD Dept of Labor – Veterans         240-367-6489              george.hawley@maryland.gov

Craig Renner, Charles Regional Medical Center       301-609-4394              craig.renner@umm.edu

INSURANCE / UNEMPLOYMENT / WORKER’S COMPENSATION:

Chair: Larry Sanders, EL Sanders Insurance             301-934-9521              larrys@elsanders.com

Ken Cross, Retired                                                     301-934-4680              kwcross881@gmail.com

George Hawley, MD Dept of Labor – Veterans         240-367-6489              george.hawley@maryland.gov

Craig Hickerson, Sign-A-Rama                                  301-870-0299              sarwaldmd@verizon.net

MISCELLANEOUS:

Chair: Sue Greer, The Greer Law Firm                      301-934-7988              sue@thegreerlawfirm.com

Bob Eaton, Eagle Bank                                              301-752-3371              beaton@eaglebankcorp.com

Doug Meeker, Elm Street Development                    410-266-9700              dmeeker@elmstreetdev.com

Steve Scott, The Scott Law Firm                                301-870-5355              sscott@scottlawllc.com

Henry Thompson, CC Republican Central Cmte.      301-934-4014              legendarychickenberry@gmail.com

REAL ESTATE / FINANCE / LANDLORD-TENANT:

Chair: Ed Holland, Retired                                         301-848-3476              hollandnmd@aol.com

Phil McDonagh, Retired                                             301-848-5475              prwmcdonagh@gmail.com

Bob Eaton, Eagle Bank                                              301-752-3371              beaton@eaglebankcorp.com

TAX:

Chair: Phil McDonagh, Retired                                  301-848-5475              prwmcdonagh@gmai.com

Bob Eaton, Eagle Bank                                              301-752-3371              beaton@eaglebankcorp.com

TRANSPORTATION / ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT:

Chair: Bob Eaton, Eagle Bank                                   301-752-3371              beaton@eaglebankcorp.com

George Hawley, MD Dept of Labor – Veterans         240-367-6489              george.hawley@maryland.gov

UTILITIES:

Chair: Tom Dennison, SMECO                                 301-274-4342              thomas.dennison@smeco.coop

CHARLES COUNTY DELEGATION:

Senator Arthur Ellis                                        410-858-3616                          arthur.ellis@senate.state.md.us

Senator Michael A. Jackson.                          410-858-3700                         michael.jackson@senate.state.md.us

Delegate Debra Davis                                     410-858-3337                          debra.davis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Edith Patterson (Charles Chair)       410-858-3247                          edith.patterson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susie Proctor                                   410-858-3083                          susie.proctor@house.state.md.us

Delegate C.T. Wilson                                      410-858-3325                          ct.wilson@house.state.md.us

 

 

 

Legislative Alert Sponsors