Charles County, Maryland has rich heritage including many historic sites and landmarks. It was established in 1658 and was named for third Baron Baltimore, Charles Calvert. Waldorf, Maryland started as a rural crossroads originally called Beantown. The Balitmore and Potomac Railroad added a station to Waldorf in 1872. Benedict was established in 1683 and was one of the first ports on The Patuxent River. The town of La Plata, Maryland was named by Colonel Samuel Chapman, after the La Plata river. (In April 2002, a tornado cut through the County and destroyed much of downtown La Plata. The town has since been completed reconstructed.) Indian Head, Maryland was established 1920 and is named for the Algonquin Indian Tribe. Port Tobacco was established in 1634, and is one of the oldest towns on the East Coast.